Budding Toronto producer turned rapper NAV, has finally released his highly anticipated project with St. Louis producer Metro Boomin.  After the success of his singles Myself, and On My Own catapulted him to stardom.  Many people including myself wondered how he would sound on a full project.  In February he released his self-titled mixtape to mixed reviews.  I praised the production, but the lyrics and songs themselves were mediocre.  When he announced that he was linking up with Metro I was excited because I was a fan of the song they did together titled UP. I didn’t know what to expect on this project but I went in with open ears.

DEkGkSKUQAEq9LH

The project started off slow with Perfect Timing (Intro).  Nav subject matter hasn’t changed from his previous projects. This project is filled with the same mediocre raps about drugs and being lame and now being cool once he acquires fame and money from his last project.  While I’m not opposed to this kind of rap, Nav doesn’t do it particularly well.  Nav lacks the energy or charisma to make up for his lack of substance.  Nav Re-uses the same mid-tempo flow on every track and it gets boring and redundant after a while. Metro does deliver with amazing production on every track but I felt as though Nav could have utilized it better.  There are a few features on Perfect Timing and they all are great, but Nav doesn’t show up to match their energy.

Almost everything about this project is amazing, except for the main artist, Nav.  I felt as though if you took Nav off this whole project it would sound fine.  If you replaced Nav with another artist it would have the potential to be better than this project.  Even with all of my crisiticms I did enjoy a few of the tracks on Perfect Timing. I enjoyed all of the features.  I honestly felt like anyone of the features could have done a better job with a project full of Metro Boomin beats.  This would have been a perfect oppurtunity for Nav to showcase his growth, but overall I just felt like he wasted 15 amazing beats. There were less cringeworthy lines than his previous project but I felt like there is still a lot of room for improvement. But hopefully Nav grows to be a great artist, but the only thing I took away from this project was how amazing a producer Metro is. Perfect Timing had so much potential to be a great project, but it fell flat on it’s face.

Favorite Tracks: Rich, A$AP Ferg, Minute

Score: 1.5/5

What did you think of Perfect Timing? Let me know what you think.

