Lil Yachty has quickly become one of the most polarizing figures in Hip-Hop today.  From Lil boats style of rapping to his appearance to how he blew up.  After I heard his debut mix-tape I found myself for the most part enjoying his music, but didn’t know how far he could go with this sound of his.  His second mixtape Summer Songs 2 continued the buzz he had going with Lil Boat.  I enjoyed both mix-tapes and when he announced his debut album Teenage Emotions, I was ecstatic to see what he would do and how he would progress as a artist.  Did Lil Yachty deliver with Teenage Emotions, or is his run coming to a end?

So let’s start with the positives of this project.  I did enjoy the production for the most part.  I could tell there was a lot of money put behind this project and the production.  I did enjoy Harley, one of the tracks he released prior to the release of this project.  Now that we have the few positives out of the way let’s get into it.  While the project sounds good decent, Yachty doesn’t fit whatsoever. This whole project is filled with cringe-worthy, off-beat rap lines.  Everything that Yacthy built with his first two projects, he completely threw away with this project.  I really wanted to like this project, but the more I listened the more I became mad at all the time I was wasting listening to this sorry excuse of an album.  I was expecting some of the features to save this album and sadly I was mistaken.  While Yachty has never been anyone’s lyricist, opting for more fun lighthearted rhymes,  I couldn’t get pass gems such as “I just fucked up bitch that was supposed to be my God Sis”, ” ‘Cause she get wet and she suck me like a insect She my step sister, so I guess that’s incest I could not stop lookin’ at those big breasts Make your next move, your best life’s a game of chess”, “My new bitch yellow, she blow on the dick like a cello”, just to name a few.  My Nigga What? Everything aside

 

I was taken back at the lack of quality of this album.  After being pleasantly surprised with his first two projects, I was taken back out how horrid this album is.  I would like to think Yachty would have taken his debut album a little bit more serious.  At first glance I was ecstatic about the featured guest, and even they couldn’t save this project for me.  This album would delegate the directory for Yachty’s career and I was let down severely. I previously stated Playboi Carti’s Mixtape was the worst project this year, but Teenage Emotions easily takes that title. But shout out to Yacthy though.

 

Score: .5/5

 

Favorite Tracks: Harley, Say My Name

 

What did you think of Teenage Emotions? Did you love it? Did you hate it? Let me know what you think, and I hope everyone is enjoying their summer. Thank you and God Bless.

 

NE

 

