2015, was a very interested year for the Toronto artist.  Two dope projects, A apple deal, coming out on top of a beef.  It was a phenomenal year for drake to say the least.  Drake had been saying his album Views from the six for a little over two years at that point.  Fast Forward to May and VIEWS is officially platinum after only a week out.  But to be honest i was really disappointed by this album.  Lets jump into the review

1.Keep The Family Close: A grand opening by drake, everything was epic about the track, the structure of the song, the production.  But i felt like drake just came up short .  It felt like waking up on christmas day as a kid  and seeing you only got clothes.  Its decent, it’s not bad but i was just expecting more from drake.  I must say the track has grown on me a little bit but it could have been a lot better.

2.9-  Another track that started off great, but fizzled out the more it went on.  Drake is rapping on this track but im not feeling this track at all, it seemed lazy.  It just didn’t hit me and I really wanted to like this track.  The beat is phenomenal though i must say.

3.U with Me- The song starts of with a DMX sample, which is hilarious to me  because in an interview with The Breakfast Club, DMX expressed a deep hatred for drake.  But back to the track , drake is getting beat by the production.  The production is standing out to me more than anything drake is saying.  The production is steady on this album, but drake himself sounds uninspired and is giving us some of the worst bars ive ever heard from him.  “Girl i had your back when all you used to do was front” .  No. Just No.

4. Feel No Ways-This beat is very different.  Not bad necessarily just different. This track isn’t bad to me it’s just kind of there.  I don’t hate the track it’s just ok to me.  Nothing really amazing happens on this track.  His singing is decent on this track .  But I don’t have a lot to say about the song.  Just ok.

5.Hype-  This song is a certified banger.  The production is on point,as always.  But drake is actually rapping, and very well.  It is one of my favorites on the album.  When drake raps he really can’t miss.  He rides the beat well , no cringe worthy lines on this track.  Very dope track.

6.Western Road Flows-I love this beat, it’s smooth and drake is in his pocket on this song.  It is one of if not the best song on this album to me.  Drake flows effortlessly on this track.  Once again when drake raps like this, you can’t deny his growth and his worth as a rapper.  Drake killed this track .

7.Redemption-Production on this song is amazing.  But sadly drake, doesnt utilize it and once again he comes up short for me. Vocally drake isn’t bad, but he’s not great, he’s just ok on this track.  But i find myself more interested in the production that drake himself.

8. With you –  Partynextdoor is featured on this track and I don’t know why.  Party’s verse does nothing for me here, I don’t really enjoy this track either.  Drake is doing his usually singing about women switching up on him and nothing here is good to me.  Its bad when i dont care for anything about a song.

9.Faithful-  The late great pimp-c is featured on this track.  How drake got a pimp-c verse is beyond me.  But i love Pimp-C’s verse on this.  He sets the mood, but drake comes and switches the mood and combines singing and rapping and it’s not bad but it doesn’t fit the track to me.  DVSN, drakes newest artist, steals the show for me.  He can really sing his ass off.  Overall i love everything about this track, except drake.  DVSN outshined drake on his own album.

10.Still Here-  Drake makes another hit with this song.  It is one of the high points of this album.  He is actually spitting bars.  The hook is infectious and catchy.

11.Controlla-  When this song first dropped, I completely hated it.  But after a few listens it grows on you.    It makes me want to get up and dance, and I hate dancing.  The dance hall inspired track is great.  This is a great song for the club and dance hall.

12.One Dance-  Another song that i hated at first but grew on me as time went on.   The Jamaican and dance hall vibe from this song is great.  Drake actually sounds really great on this song.  The beat is also very infectious,  it’s a very solid song and makes you want to get up and dance.

13.Grammy’s-A vicious turn up track.  Future and Drake sound great over this production.  Drake murders his verse.  But i really feel like this song could have been ten times better.  It’s not bad at all, i just feel it had a lot of potential, but none the less it is a dope track, and it’ll bang in the club and in the car.

14.Childs Play- EH

15.PopStyle- A track that was released a few weeks before the release , it originally had a Jay-z “feature” along with Kanye west verse.  It is a dope track, the dark beat and drake is rapping his ass off again.  It is a dope track, but that “I got so many chains on they call me Channing Tatum ” line is Trash. As fuck.  But the new verse by drake is really great.  So it all works out in the end.  Great Track

16.Too Good- EH.  don’t really care for this track.

17.Summers Too Good interlude – Cool interlude, i love the sample.  But nothing special here.

18.Fire&Desire-One of the few tracks where drake is singing that i actually care for.  It is great all around the production, drake doesn’t bore me with his singing.  Drake actually sounds inspired and motivated on this track, it doesn’t sound forced or lazy.

19.Views-  Drake is always in pocket on this type of production to me.  He kills the track .  Theres nothing else i can say but this is a great track.

20.Hotline Bling-  We all know Hotline Bling, it’s a very catchy track .  Nothing new we heard this tracks last year.  Dope track.  I’m puzzled as to why its the last track on the album, it seemed like it should be in the middle , sequenced with Controlla and One dance.  But it’s not a bad song, but it feels out-of-place , going at the end.

Overall, this album was very hit or miss with me.  I love when drake is spitting bars, but the singing has always been hit or miss with me.  Drake has proven to us that he can rap and he can make great albums, i feel as though drake got complacent and cocky and gave us a sub par album.. Views feels like a R&B album with a few rapping tracks on it.  I just feel like drake as an artist could have come a lot harder on this album .  The production is amazing but the album is sequenced weird, making it sound like a mix up of songs, rather than one cohesive body of work.  Overall it’s not bad, but it’s not great .  This album had so much potential but i fell flat to me.

Score:6/10

That is my review , tell me what you think about the album.  I love conversating with people with music, so just let me know what you think.  Summer’s around the corner and i hope everyone is doing well. Bless Up

NE

 

